Visual Imagination Limited
Film Review 2008
All items are priced in UK POUNDS (£). Except for our subscriptions, prices shown do not include shipping costs. These will be calculated for you at the checkout.
Note - Customers in the USA: please use our US DOLLAR ($) store here: VI Direct US Catalog
Go Up
Go Up
Contents
Contents
Information
Information
Search
Search
E-Mail Us
E-Mail Us

VI Direct Catalogue : Film Review : Film Review 2008

Film Review #702, December 2008 Film Review #702, December 2008
(Reference #F225)
Since 1950, Film Review has brought the latest info on the movie world. We preview blockbusters, and aim to report on every new UK cinema release in our lively and comprehensive movie reviews section – not forgetting the extensive section on video releases. From top interviews with the top Hollywood stars and directors to tons of trivia and masses of competitions, Film Review is an essential purchase for movie fans! It's the 21st Century Movie Magazine…


Price:  £3.99

Film Review #701, November 2008 Film Review #701, November 2008
(Reference #F224)
Coming Soon…


Price:  £3.99

Film Review #700, Double-Issue 2008 Film Review #700, Double-Issue 2008
(Reference #F223)
Now Available
700th Issue, with 220 packed pages

Interviewed...
Burn After Reading The Coen brothers with stars Brad Pitt, Tilda Swinton and John Malkovich
Tropic Thunder Director/star Ben Stiller along with stars Jack Black and Robert Downey Jr
Pineapple Express Stars Seth Rogen and James Franco and director David Gordon Green
Death Race Star Jason Statham
Somers Town Director Shane Meadows
Brideshead Revisited Stars Hayley Atwell and Michael Goode
How to Lose Friends and Alienate People Director Robert B Weide
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas Actor David Thewlis
Mirrors Star Kiefer Sutherland
The Strangers Star Liv Tyler
Nim’s Island Star Jodie Foster
Director’s Chair with Guy Ritchie, including RocknRolla

PLUS...
From the Archives: Batman and Robin We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from its 58 years in the biz
Assistant director Robert E Relyea looks back at his diverse career to celebrate the 90th anniversary of United Artists
On Set! Mutant Chronicles From the new Rob Perlman-starring Fantasy flick
Picture Views: A look at Righteous Kill and Clone Wars DVD
We countdown the best Westerns

And..
32 packed pages bringing you 43 reviews, including Hellboy II: The Golden Army, Step Bros and Eagle Eye
14 pages of DVDs, books, CDs and games, with 18 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies
Vox Pops What our readers in Tinseltown thought of The X Files 2: I Want to Believe and they were kinder than most members of the Film Review office…

Note: This publication includes the PDF-only issue #699

Also available in PDF format at special download price. See the Film Review index page

Go to Web edition

Price:  £4.99

Film Review #699, August 2008 Film Review #699, August 2008
(Reference #F222)

Available only in PDF format at special download price. See the Film Review index page, but also combined with Issue 700 see above




Price:  £3.99

Film Review #698, July 2008 Film Review #698, July 2008
(Reference #F221)

148 packed pages

New Pictures! The Dark Knight Director Christopher Nolan and stars Christian Bale and Aaron Eckhart
Exclusive! Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian Stars Ben Barnes and Warwick Davis
Kung Fu Panda Stars Jack Black and Angelina Jolie
WALL-E Director Andrew Stanton
25 Greatest Actors We scour modern cinema for the crème de la crème of today’s acting talent
Exclusive! Cannes 2008 All the juiciest news and gossip
Sydney Pollack tribute We pay our respects to the late, multi-talented film-maker
Wanted Director Timur Bekmambetov
From the Archives: Toy Story We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from our 58 years in the biz
Exclusive! Director’s Chair: Frank Darabont The Shawshank Redemption director gives us an exclusive look behind the scenes of his upcoming chiller The Mist
Now on DVD...
Exclusive! Rambo Special effects supervisor Alex Gunn and star Graham McTavish
There Will Be Blood Director Paul Thomas Anderson

Plus..
18 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 32 brand new releases, including Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, The Incredible Hulk and Sex and the City
17 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 15 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Yes Man and Miracle at St Anna
Vox Pops The Film Review team with their thoughts on cinema’s latest pickings

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #697, Summer 2008 Film Review #697, Summer 2008
(Reference #F220)

132 packed pages

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
We take an in-depth look at the film of the year, including…
Harrison Ford, Steven Spielberg and George Lucas The star, director and producer reunite for a chat with us!
Cate Blanchett
Karen Allen
Ray Winstone
Shia LaBeouf
And
Top 10 Indy Moments

The Incredible Hulk Why Marvel is giving its mean, green machine a second chance…
Sex and the City We share a cocktail with stars Sarah-Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Cynthia Nixon and Kristin Davis!
Exclusive! The Waiting Room Brit stars Ralf Little and Anne-Marie Duff find true love on the big screen
Exclusive! Marianne Faithfull The pop culture icon explores the darker side of life in Irina Palm
City Movies We tour the world’s greatest cities as seen in the movies, from Trainspotting to Paris je t’aime
Exclusive! Director’s Chair: Sergei Bodrov The Russian film-maker takes us behind the scenes of Oscar-nominated biopic Mongol – The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan
Taxi to the Dark Side Film-maker Alex Gibney reveals his terrible inspiration for his Oscar-winning War on Terror documentary
Gone Baby Gone Director Ben Affleck and stars Casey Affleck and Amy Ryan on their new drama
From the Archives: Ghostbusters II We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from our 58 years in the biz. This issue we take a look back at the classic 1989 spooky sequel
Exclusive! Actress Laura Linney reveals why it’s so difficult to grow up in her new family drama The Savages
Director Marc Forster tells us how he brought Khaled Hosseini’s beloved novel The Kite Runner to life

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 31 brand new releases, including In Search of a Midnight Kiss, Numb and Priceless
17 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 15 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies The Dark Knight, The Rocker and Sleepwalking
Vox Pops We head to Hollywood’s famous Mann’s/Grauman’s Chinese Theatre to see what our American readers thought of comedy sequel Harold & Kumar: Escape from Guantanamo Bay

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #696, June 2008 Film Review #696, June 2008
(Reference #F219)

164 packed pages

Massive Summer Preview! All new pics!
We bring you our scorching guide to the 60 films you simply can’t miss this summer, and beyond!
Including…
Sex and the City Star Chris Noth
The Dark Knight Star Christian Bale
Iron Man Star Robert Downey Jr and director Jon Favreau
Hellboy 2: The Golden Army Director Guillermo del Toro
Speed Racer Stars Emile Hirsch, Matthew Fox and Christina Ricci
Hancock Stars Will Smith, Charlize Theron and Jason Bateman

Exclusive! Star Jessica Alba on her new Horror remake The Eye
We pay tribute to the life and career of Charlton Heston
Star Ryan Phillippe and director Kimberly Peirce on Iraq war drama Stop-Loss
Exclusive! Young star Wes Bentley on Horror movie P2
Star Jason Segel and director Nicholas Stoller on new comedy Forgetting Sarah Marshall
Exclusive! Director’s Chair: Neil Marshall on explosive apocalyptic blockbuster Doomsday
New! From the Archives: All That Jazz We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from our 58 years in the biz. This issue we revisit an encounter with the late, great Roy Scheider
Anthony Minghella Remembering the work of the late British director, and his continuing influence on British film
Alternative Animation Disney and Pixar may rule the animation roost, but we take a look at the best of the rest, including new film Persepolis
Director John Sayles celebrates a golden age of musical history in Honeydripper

Now on DVD...
Exclusive! Actor John C Reilly on music spoof Walk Hard
• Star Dustin Hoffman talks about Mr Magorium’s Wonder Emporium

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 30 brand new releases, including Where in the World is Osama Bin Laden?, Death Note and Charlie Bartlett
17 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 21 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture An early look at forthcoming movies Wolf Man, Monster vs Aliens and GI Joe
Vox Pops We head to the Sydney’s sun-drenched Dendy Opera Quays cinema to see what our Australian readers thought of new drama The Black Balloon

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #695, May 2008 Film Review #695, May 2008
(Reference #F218)

132 packed pages

Martin Scorsese & The Rolling Stones
• The director and the band tell us why they have united for the mind-blowing concert movie Shine a Light
• The 10 best rockumentaries, from The Last Waltz to In Bed with Madonna
In Bruges
Colin Farrell ... on his pitch black British crime comedy
• Director Martin McDonagh tells us why he just had to film the movie in Bruges
Director Garth Jennings and his two young stars Bill Milner and Will Poulter on remaking Rambo in Son of Rambow
Horror Grudge Match! We investigate how the Western versions of Asian Horror films hold up to their Eastern originals
The Oscar-nominated actor David Strathairn talks about his role in upcoming Horror remake Apparition
Exclusive! Director’s Chair: Mike Leigh gives us his thoughts on his latest opus Happy-Go-Lucky
Exclusive! Bette Davis Tribute On the 100th anniversary of her birth, we pay tribute to the Hollywood legend and talk to her son Mike Merrill
Stars Naomi Watts, Michael Pitt and Brady Corbetdiscuss their roles in Funny Games
Exclusive! Korean director Chan-wook Park tells us why he’s showing his sensitive side in I’m a Cyborg
New! From the Archives: All the President’s Men We raid the Film Review vaults to bring you vintage articles from our 58 years in the biz
Stars Adrien Brody, Jason Schwartzman and director Wes Anderson of The Darjeeling Limited reveal how filming their quirky comedy became a real-life spiritual adventure
Now on DVD...
• Director Francis Lawrence on I am Legend

Plus..
14 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 30 brand new releases, including Flashback of a Fool, Letherheads and 10,000 BC
15 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 17 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture An early look at forthcoming movies The International, Get Smart and Kung Fu Panda
Vox Pops We head to the famous Leicester Square Odeon to find out what our London readers made of star-studded historical drama The Other Boleyn Girl

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #694, April 2008 Film Review #694, April 2008
(Reference #F217)

132 packed pages

Indiana Jones
Exclusive! New Kingdom of the Crystal Skull pictures
• We take a look at the three films that made him a movie icon…
• Director Steven Spielber reveals the secrets of new movie Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
• Co-star Shia LaBeouf on playing Indy’s new sidekick

Exclusive! Director Roland Emmerich tells us why he’s turning back Time for prehistoric blockbuster 10,000 BC
Stars Scarlett Johansson & Natalie Portman on how it felt to go head to head in historical drama The Other Boleyn Girl
Exclusive! Director’s Chair: Brian De Palma The controversial film-maker speaks out regarding his ambitious Iraq war movie Redacted
Heath Ledger (1979-2008) Following the death of the much-loved actor, we pay tribute to a career cut short
Stars Dennis Quaid, Matthew Fox and Forest Whitaker discuss their multi-viewpoint thriller Vantage Point
Funniest man in Hollywood Will Ferrell tells us why he’s courting laughs in professional basketball comedy Semi-Pro
Studio United Artists celebrates its 90th anniversary and we take a look at its astonishing history and enduring legacy
Director Paul Andrew Williams and stars Andy Serkis, Jennifer Ellison and Reece Shearsmith on mixing gore and guffaws in their pitch black comedy
Exclusive! Director George A Romero lets us take a peak inside his Diary of the Dead
Exclusive! Director Juan Antonio Bayona and producer Guillermo Del Toro of Spanish chiller The Orphanage reveal its terrifying secrets
Now on DVD...
Exclusive! British funnyman Ben Miller on cutting some rug in Razzle Dazzle
• We pay tribute to his life and remarkable career of director Stanley Kubrick

Plus..
14 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 35 brand new releases, including Jumper, The Bank Job and Out of the Blue
15 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 13 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture An early look at forthcoming movies X-Men Origins: Wolverine, Hancock and Where the Wild Things Are
Vox Pops We head to Hollywood to find out what our Los Angeles readers made of ground-breaking creature-feature Cloverfield

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #693, March 2008 Film Review #693, March 2008
(Reference #F216)

132 packed pages

Star Daniel Day Lewis talks about There Will be Blood
Plus: Actor Paul Dano on playing opposite Lewis
Director Matt Reeves on his monster movie Cloverfield
Star Nicolas Cage on his first sequel, National Treasure: Book of Secrets
Stars Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman on growing old disgracefully in comedy The Bucket List
Star Hayden Christensen tells us why he’s returning to Sci-Fi for the action-packed spectacular Jumper
Actress Christina Ricci on the modern fairy tale Penelope
Star Halle Berry reveals all about her most challenging role yet, in the hard-hitting drama Things We Lost in the Fire
Star Mathieu Almaric and director Julian Schnabel on their touching Golden Globe-winning true-life story The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
Upcoming stars Ellen Page and Michael Cera, director Jason Reitman and writer Diablo Cody on their breakout comedy hit Juno
Exclusive! Stars Selma Blair and Stellan Starsgård dissect their disturbing new psychological Horror movie WAZ
Exclusive! Director’s Chair: Wong Kar Wai The acclaimed film-maker behind Chungking Express and In the Mood for Love discusses his latest work My Blueberry Nights
Now on DVD
Exclusive! Director Anton Corbijin on his stylish biopic Control
Exclusive! Director Neil Jordan on his controversial The Brave One

Plus..
14 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 35 brand new releases, including Rambo, Be Kind Rewind and Aliens vs Predator: Requiem
15 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 13 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies Frost/Nixon, Hellboy II: The Golden Army, Australia, The Incredible Hulk, The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian and The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor
Vox Pops We head to Sydney to find out what our Aussie readers made of No Country for Old Men

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #692, February 2008 Film Review #692, February 2008
(Reference #F215)

In 132 packed pages…

Review of 2007 What it says on the box...

We talk to…
Rambo Sylvester Stallone
Sweeney Todd Stars Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman and director Tim Burton
No Country for Old Men Exclusive! Film-making legends the Coen Brothers and their stars Josh Brolin and Javier Bardem
I Am Legend Star Will Smith
The Golden Compass Star Nicole Kidman
Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead Legendary director Sidney Lumet and his stars Marisa Tomei and Philip Seymour Hoffman
Dan in Real Life America’s funniest man Steve Carell
Aliens vs Predator: Requiem Exclusive! Directorial team the Brothers Strause
Lust, Caution Director Ang Lee
In the Valley of Elah Director’s Chair Exclusive! Paul Haggis
Now on DVD Death Proof Exclusive! Zoe Bell

Plus..
14 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 27 brand new releases, including St Trinian’s, Charlie Wilson’s War and Man in the Chair
9 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 13 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies Flashbacks of a Fool, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skulland The Dark Knight
Vox Pops We head to Kent to find out what our readers made of The Golden Compass

And more..

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #691, January 2008 Film Review #691, January 2008
(Reference #F214)

132 packed pages

Wanted Pictorial Preview Angelina Jolie and James McAvoy team up for this hot new action-fest
I’m Not There Director Todd Haynes and stars Cate Blanchett and Christian Bale get together to discuss the many visions of Dylan in this off beat biopic
The Golden Compass We go behind the scenes and talk to director Chris Weitz
Director’s Chair: Francis Ford Coppola Exclusive The legendary film-maker on his fantastic career, his return to directing for Youth Without Youth and why he hasn’t made a film in 10 years
The Film That Changed My Life… Atonement director Joe Wright talks about Scorsese’s inspiring masterpiece Taxi Driver
Star Jerry Seinfeld gives us the buzz on new animation Bee Movie
Star Joaquin Phoenix reveals some of We Own the Night ’s darker themes
The Killing of John Lennon Director Andrew Piddington on bringing the disturbing true story to the big screen
Enchanted Susan Sarandon and Patrick Dempsey discuss this modern twist of a classic fairy-tale
Force Fed We celebrate 30 years of Star Wars with a fans' eye view of the saga
Kyle Newman Exclusive We talk to the director of upcoming Star Wars comedy Fanboys
Christopher Doyle Exclusive The Paranoid Park cinematographer reveals what it’s like to work with director Gus Van Sant
Now on DVD Knocked Up Exclusive We chat to director Judd Apatow and star Leslie Mann
Now on DVD Charles de Lauzirika Exclusive The Blade Runner: The Final Cut producer on revitalizing the Sci-Fi masterpiece
Now on DVD Shia LaBeouf Exclusive We chat to the Transformers star

Plus..
13 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 31 brand new releases, including Silk, Beowulf and Hitman
9 pages reviewing the latest DVDs, books, cds and games, with 13 pages of the latest film news
The Bigger Picture We get an early look at forthcoming movies Cassandra’s Song, Rambo and Sex and the City: The Movie
Vox Pops We head to LA to find out what our readers made of Fred Claus

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99
VI Direct Catalogue : Film Review : Film Review 2008

Go Up
Go Up
Contents
Contents
Information
Information
Search
Search
E-Mail Us
E-Mail Us


Visual Imagination – publisher of film, tv and Science Fiction magazines